President Uhuru Kenyatta has announced that Kenya has recorded 49 new Coronavirus cases in the past 24 hours, raising the total number of cases in the country to 830.

The President also announced that the country had reported five Coronavirus deaths in the last 24 hours. Coronavirus-related fatalities in the country are now 50.

Addressing the nation from State House, Uhuru Kenyatta said that Kenya, and the whole world, are at the valley of the shadow of death.

Uhuru warned Kenyans that failure to comply with the government’s precautionary measures could result in increased infections of the coronavirus and consequently, more deaths

“Even though the measures we are putting in place are inconvenient to all of us, the far worse outcome is for the pandemic to grow out of control,” he said.

During the live event, President Uhuru Kenyatta announced stricter measures to mitigate the increases spread of coronavirus.

Uhuru announced the extension of the countrywide 7 pm to 5 am by 21 days. The curfew will be active until June 6, 2020.

The President also announced the extension of cessation of movement into and out of the Nairobi Metropolitan Area, Mombasa, Kilifi, Kwale, and Mandera for 21 more days.

Additionally, Uhuru closed the Kenya-Tanzania and Kenya-Somalia border, effective midnight tonight

However, all cargo trucks will be permitted across the two borders as long the truck drivers test negative for Covid-19.